Stockdale Amongst Eight Irish Up For EPCR Player of the Year

Stockdale Amongst Eight Irish Up For EPCR Player of the Year

Having each qualified for the Champions Cup Quarter-Finals, Munster, Leinster and Ulster have all scored representation in this year's EPCR Player of the Year nominee list.

Munster powerhouse Tadhg Beirne has secured his place on the fifteen-man list, as well as teammates Joey Carberry and Peter O'Mahoney, whilst flying the flag for Leo Cullen's Leinster side will be Sean Cronin, Gary Ringrose and Tadhg Furlong.

Ulster's sole representative is natural born thriller Jacob Stockdale, who has amassed six tries already in club rugby's premier continental competition. His blank against Leicester in the final group game at the weekend saw the winger fall one game short in his bid to become only the third player to cross the whitewash in all six group encounters.

Three of the Lisburn man's tries this season have come against Racing 92, who have a trio of nominations of their own - including Simon Zebo.


The Cork man has been in impressive form since his switch to the Paris last summer, and has scored five tries in the Champions Cup, helping his side to an all-French last eight meeting with Toulouse.

Club teammate and fellow British Lion, Finn Russell makes the list, as does Fijian lock Leone Nakrawa.

Mako Vunipola, Antoine Dupont, Viliame Mata and Saracen's full-back, Alex Goode, complete the distinguished lineup.

The final cut to five will occur by the end of the European club season, with room for any stand out performers from the latter stages of the competition to be added if necessary, before the awards ceremony on May 11th, at St. James's Park in Newcastle.


Aaron Strain

You may also like