Tadhg Furlong Only Irish Player In World Rugby Team Of The Year

Tadhg Furlong Only Irish Player In World Rugby Team Of The Year

Tadhg Furlong has been included in World Rugby Men's 15's Team of the Year.

The Leinster and Ireland tighthead prop is the only Irish player included on the team.

The remainder of the team comprises five from South Africa, three from New Zealand, two from Australia, and one each from English, France, Scotland and Wales.

Antoine Dupont, Michael Hooper, Maro Itoje and Samu Kerevi were last month announced as the nominees for World Rugby Men's 15's Player of the Year.

Former Ireland international Luke Fitzgerald said this week that he was surprised that Furlong had not been nominated for the award.


"He's so much better than anyone else in the world in that position," said Fitzgerald.

"It's amazed me how Furlong has gone without a nomination so far because I think he's unbelievable.

"He's basically like a back rower around the pitch but he can do all the tough and grimy stuff as well."

World Rugby Dream Team of the Year 2021

1. Wyn Jones (Wales)

2. Malcolm Marx (South Africa)


3. Tadhg Furlong (Ireland)

4. Maro Itoje (England)

5. Eben Etzebeth (South Africa)

6. Siya Kolisi (South Africa)

7. Michael Hooper (Australia)

8. Ardie Savea (New Zealand)


9. Antoine Dupont (France)

10. Beauden Barrett (New Zealand)

11. Makazole Mapimpi (South Africa)

12. Samu Kerevi (Australia)

13. Lukhanyo Am (South Africa)

14. Will Jordan (New Zealand)

15. Stuart Hogg (Scotland)

Featured image: 21 November 2021; Tadhg Furlong of Ireland during the Autumn Nations Series match between Ireland and Argentina at Aviva Stadium in Dublin. Photo by Brendan Moran/Sportsfile

See Also: Best Questions Use Of 'God Save The Queen' For Northern Ireland Teams

tadhg furlong world rugby team of the year 2021

PJ Browne
Article written by

You may also like