Watch: Another Controversial Call In Champions Cup As Gloucester Try Ruled Out

Watch: Another Controversial Call In Champions Cup As Gloucester Try Ruled Out

The opening weekend of the Champions Cup has seen several controversial calls by referees, but the pick of the lot came during Gloucester and Castres tie at Kingsholm when Johan Ackermann's side were penalised for a deep clearout.

The decision was heavily criticised by former English player Austin Healey, who labelled referee Marius Mitrea's performance as 'rubbish.' It comes after yesterday's debate surrounding Jerome Garces breakdown interpretation and a penalty try decision that ultimately cost Scarlets the game against Racing last night.

Tom Marshall touched down after a blindside break from the earlier breakdown. However, it was deemed that the clearout was illegal as Castres second-row Christophe Samson was not fully committed.


Former Irish player and current Gloucester defence coach Jonny Bell told BT Sport they were "just trying to clear the ball" and not looking for an illegal clearout. World Rugby do define a player as joining a ruck as someone who 'must bind:' "Player must bind onto a team-mate or an opposition player. The bind must precede or be simultaneous with contact with any other part of the body."


While the referees have strived to provide feedback on why they made their decision, the resulting discussion emphasises the massive grey area that still surrounds certain aspects of the sport and its laws.

SEE ALSO: O'Callaghan Reluctant To Criticise As O'Mahony Gets Away With Illegal Move Again

Maurice Brosnan

You may also like