Rugby

WATCH: The Entire World Now Agrees That Connacht Got Ridiculously Lucky Here

WATCH: The Entire World Now Agrees That Connacht Got Ridiculously Lucky Here

The entire world - or, at least, those citizens of the planet who pay close attention to the Guinness Pro12 - are now in agreement that the try from Ospreys' Sam Davies in the Sportsground last Sunday should not have been disallowed.

Connacht ended up extending their Pro12 lead last weekend partly thanks to referee George Clancy and TMO Jude Quinn.

They led 27-22 with only minutes remaining when Davies made a stunning break for the line. Keiran Marmion made a despairing bid to tackle him, plainly failing to hold him on the ground. Davies bounced off his honkers and touched the ball down.

Incredibly the referee and television match officials concluded that Marmion's late lunge constituted a tackle. Connacht went on to win 30-22.

Ospreys coach Steve Tandy confirmed that World Rugby have advised him that the try should have been allowed.

Advertisement

He told Simon Thomas that there was little ambiguity in their verdict.

It was a clear and obvious try which is frustrating... It's gone to World Rugby and it's come back that it was a try. They say it was a try, that it's a non-held tackle.

Read more: Ireland's Five Worst Six Nations Championships Of This Century