Snooker

Controversial Moment In Snooker Final As Foul Called On Selby Shot

Controversial Moment In Snooker Final As Foul Called On Selby Shot

The 2017 World Snooker Championship final served up an absolute cracker between Mark Selby and John Higgins.

On day one, Higgins raced out to what looked like an unasailable lead, but on day two Selby came out and won five-straight frames to put himself in contention, before taking a commanding lead.

But Higgins wasn't done and mounted a run of his own, before a controversial moment took over the narrative of the day.

In the 31st frame, with Selby needing two frames to claim the title, referee Jan Verhaas called a foul on Selby after he deemed that his cue ball did not make contact with the black. On closer inspection, it was ridiculously close.

Advertisement

Did it hit?

It's crazy, from some angles it looks like it did, from others it looks like it didn't.

Higgins would go on to win the frame and pull within one, we'll keep you updated as this one goes right down to the wire.

SEE ALSO: Watch: Crucible Erupts In Laughter As John Higgins Pots Cue Ball THREE Times In Escaping Snooker

Mikey Traynor

You may also like