Ronnie O'Sullivan could not believe that referee Rob Spencer called a push ball on him during his Championship League Snooker match against Saqib Nasir on Tuesday.
The six-time world champion left himself tight on the blue in a close and error-filled opening frame, and was forced to use the rest.
O'Sullivan potted the ball, but Spencer called a foul, resulting in the following exchange:
Ronnie O'Sullivan: What?
Rob Spencer: It's a push, Ronnie.
Ronnie O'Sullivan: Are you having a laugh?
Rob Spencer: No, it was a push.
World number 22 ranked Tom Ford was on commentary, and felt it was not a foul by O'Sullivan.
"I am not sure that was a push, as if it was a push, the white would have gone straight through, but he played it at an angle," said Ford.
"That wasn't a push shot. If he'd pushed that, the white would have gone straight towards the corner pocket."
Nasir played a safety shot on the blue. Before he took his next shot, O'Sullivan wanted a few more words with the referee. He appeared to request that Spencer take a look at the decision after the match.
"I am the most honest snooker player and I never try to cheat," said O'Sullivan.
Spencer replied, "I can only say what I see."
O'Sullivan went on to win the frame, and subsequently the match 3-0. It was his second win of the group stage. He had beaten Ian Burns earlier in the day. The 45-year-old drew 2-2 with Mark Joyce in his final match as he topped the group with seven points.
The first stage Championship League Snooker runs until August 6th. The second stage will be played August 9th - 12th.
You can watch the controversial moment at the 14:30 mark below.