Novak Djokovic, undefeated in 2020 and the men's world number 1, has been dramatically disqualified from the US Open after accidentally hitting a line judge in the head with a tennis ball.
The shot happened in the first set of Djokovic's fourth round match against Pablo Carreno Busta this evening.
HOLY CRAP. Djokovic defaulted after he inadvertently hits a ball and strikes a line judge in the neck. She had to leave. pic.twitter.com/BECdydrKFw
— Mark Armstrong (@MarkPArmstrong) September 6, 2020
Djokovic had just had his service game broken by Carreno Busta to go down a break point when he angrily hit a ball in the direction of the base line. It was clearly unintentional, but after conferring, the umpire decided that Djokovic would default the match as it is illegal to hit an official.
— Amazon Prime Video Sport (@primevideosport) September 6, 2020
Djokovic famously tried to launch his own tennis tour earlier this summer with the sport shut down due to covid-19, only for players involved in the events to contract the virus. It's been that kind of year for the lad.
— Justin Twell (@JustinTwell78) September 6, 2020
Djokovic’s petulance finally catches up with him. Massive moment in the #USOpen but clearly the right decision to default him - you hit anyone by hitting a ball unnecessarily and you should be out. The only surprise was that it took so long to come to that decision. pic.twitter.com/lP6xLJoQqi
— Simon Smale (@simon_smale) September 6, 2020