• Home
  • /
  • Tennis
  • /
  • Roger Federer's 8th Wimbledon Title Broke All Kinds Of Records

Roger Federer's 8th Wimbledon Title Broke All Kinds Of Records

Daniel Kelly
By Daniel Kelly
Share this article

Roger Federer wrote another chapter in his legendary career, after winning an eighth Wimbledon title on Sunday afternoon.

The Swiss maestro defeated former US Open champion Marin Cilic in straight-sets. A 6-3, 6-1, 6-4 win came inside two hours. It's the first time Federer has won at Wimbledon without dropping a single set.

At 35, Federer continues to break records for fun. This year alone, he is unbeaten in Grand Slams, having won the Australian Open in January, before sitting out the French Open.

Most Wimbledon Men's Titles

Since winning his seventh Wimbledon title in 2012, Federer has been joint-top of the all-time winners in the men's tournament.  Alongside William Renshaw (seven titles in the 1890s) and Pete Sampras (seven titles in the 1990s), Federer was at the top of the pile.


Sunday's win over Cilic catapults Federer onto eight titles. It doesn't matter what era a player competed in. Nobody else has ever won the men's tournament eight times.

Oldest Wimbledon Winner In The Open Era

When Federer defeated Andy Murray in the 2012 Final, he was 30-years-old. Despite winning the title in his thirties, he was still a year younger than Arthur Ashe. In 1975, the American won his sole Wimbledon title, aged 31.

By beating Cilic, he has now become the oldest player (either male of female) to win a Wimbledon singles title, since the game turned professional. Only Arthur Gore was older when he won the title. The English player was 41-years-old when he won the 1909 title.


Longest Length Between Wimbledon Men's Titles

Federer won his first Wimbledon title in 2003, as a 21-year-old. 14 years later, he won his eighth title. No man has has a greater length between his first and last tournament win.

Before Sunday's win, American Bill Tilden held the record. A three-time winner, he won his first and last title in 1920 and 1930 respectively.

Although, he has broken the men's record, the 14-year gap has only matched the record which Serena Williams reached last year. Williams and British player Blanche Bingley both won their first and last titles 14-years apart.


Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com