St. Pats Awarded Penalty For Handball By Their Own Player

PJ Browne
By PJ Browne
Share this article

This already featured in our League of Ireland round-up for the week but it's such an unbelievable refereeing decision and it requires highlighting with it's own post.

St Pats beat Drogheda on Monday thanks to a controversial decision by referee, Tomas Connolly.


With Drogheda having just equalised moments before this incident Connolly awarded St Pat's a late penalty for what appeared to be a handball by a Drogs defender.

It wasn't though, it had actually hit the hand of St Pats' striker Christy Fagan.


Killian Brennan, who had earlier had a dubious penalty awarded against him for handball, stepped up nonetheless and coverted the kick to give Pats the 2-1 win.

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by