• Home
  • /
  • Random
  • /
  • The Ireland Squad To Take On Bosnia In Euro 2016 Play-Off Has Been Named

The Ireland Squad To Take On Bosnia In Euro 2016 Play-Off Has Been Named

The Ireland Squad To Take On Bosnia In Euro 2016 Play-Off Has Been Named
By Gary Reilly

Here we are. A few short months ago we would have bitten hands off to be in the position of a play-off against Bosnia. Ireland's win over Germany coupled with Scotland's failure to pick up expected points means that there's still a bit of disappointment that we're in this position but we're here nonetheless and it's Bosnia standing in our way.

Usually, a Martin O'Neill squad announcement brings with it the names of seemingly every Irish qualified player in the top two divisions of English football. And today's provisional squad is no different.

The most definitive news is that Stephen Quinn is definitely out having not made the 39 man squad. Jonathan Walters and John O'Shea are out of the first leg through suspension. As for Shane Long, O'Neill has said that he 'is optimistic that he can make it'.

Provisional Ireland squad to face Bosnia:

David Forde (Millwall), Shay Given (Stoke City), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday), Darren Randolph (West Ham United), Rob Elliot (Newcastle United).

Richard Keogh (Derby County), Marc Wilson (Stoke City), Seamus Coleman (Everton), Cyrus Christie (Derby County), John O'Shea (Sunderland), Alex Pearce (Derby County), Shane Duffy (Blackburn Rovers), Ciaran Clark (Aston Villa), Paul McShane (Reading), Stephen Ward (Burnley), Greg Cunningham (Preston North End).

Robbie Brady (Norwich City), James McCarthy (Everton), Jeff Hendrick (Derby County), Darron Gibson (Everton), Harry Arter (Bournemouth), Eunan O'Kane (Bournemouth), Glenn Whelan (Stoke City), Paul Green (Rotherham United), Aiden McGeady (Everton), James McClean (West Bromwich Albion), Alan Judge (Brentford), Anthony Pilkington (Cardiff City), David Meyler (Hull City), Jonathan Walters (Stoke City), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich City).


Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy), Shane Long (Southampton), Daryl Murphy (Ipswich Town), Kevin Doyle (Colorado Rapids), Anthony Stokes (Celtic), David McGoldrick (Ipswich Town), Adam Rooney (Aberdeen), Simon Cox (Bristol City).

The squad will be trimmed on November 9th.

More to follow.

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Copyright © 2022. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com