Super Rugby is known for free-flowing attacking rugby, missed tackles, and oodles of entertainment. There's meant to be tries, tries, and more tries, and so far this season - whenever games involving the New Zealand sides are on - that's largely been true.
What isn't meant to happen in Super Rugby is diving. That's what any fan will tell you anyway. And yet it happened on Saturday morning when the Queensland Reds hosted the Auckland Blues.
In what ended up as a draw (also not meant to happen in rugby), replacements Blues flyhalf Matt McGahan was chasing down a kick just before the Reds tryline before he appeared to be pulled back by Reds centre Samu Kerevi (worth remembering his name). On first viewing it looked like a penalty try offence. The referee gave a penalty - but adjudged that there was enough cover in place to stop a try from definitely happening.
But then the replay was shown:
It's a clear a dive as you can have. The ref played on despite the replay being shown in the stadium, and as you can imagine - twitter was not impressed:
Nice dive...will make a soccer players in Europe proud
— Ruggaworld 🏆🦁 🇿🇦 (@Ruggaworld) March 19, 2016
Should've reversed that penalty for the spectacular dive
— Ronan Murphy (@Ro_Murph) March 19, 2016
— Brett McKay (@BMcSport) March 19, 2016
— Steve Lenthall (@steve_l15) March 19, 2016