• Home
  • /
  • GAA
  • /
  • The GAA Can't Make Up Their Minds On The Nash Rule

The GAA Can't Make Up Their Minds On The Nash Rule

The GAA Can't Make Up Their Minds On The Nash Rule
By Conor Neville Updated

The GAA have performed a u-turn on the diktat announced last Thursday. They have abandoned the stipulation that all frees should be taken from the point where the foul happened. Players can continue to gain ground one frees through pick-ups if they wish.

The ruling that a free cannot be struck from inside the 20m line is still in place. Thus if a player wishes to engage an Anthony Nash style advance they must plonk the ball down beside the 30m line.

The new rule leaves one very strange anamoly, as pointed out by Martin Breheny. It means that a 27m free is essentially worth the same as a 20 m free.

If you are fouled 30 metres out or 20 metres out the resulting free will likely be struck from roughly the same place.

[Independent]

 

Advertisement

 

 


Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Copyright © 2022. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com

Advertisement