• Home
  • /
  • GAA
  • /
  • Mayo and Roscommon Name Their Teams Ahead Of Saturday Encounter

Mayo and Roscommon Name Their Teams Ahead Of Saturday Encounter

Mayo and Roscommon Name Their Teams Ahead Of Saturday Encounter
Aonghus Ó Maicín
By Aonghus Ó Maicín
Share this article

The first heavyweight battle in Connacht is almost upon us. And with only two days to go, both Mayo and Roscommon have revealed their starting teams for the provincial semi-final.

Predictably, Roscommon have gone for the same starting side that overcame Leitrim in their championship opener as the Rossies attempt to win for the first time since 1986 in Mayo.

Moreover, Anthony Cunningham's men haven't got one over on their neighbours since 2001.

Roscommon starting XV:

  1. Darren O’Malley - Michael Glaveys
  2. David Murray - Padraig Pearses
  3. Sean Mullooly - Strokestown
  4. Conor Daly - Padraig Pearses
  5. Niall Daly - Padraig Pearses
  6. Conor Hussey - Michael Glaveys
  7. Ronan Daly - Padraig Pearses
  8. Tadhg O’Rourke - Tulsk
  9. Shane Killoran - Elphin
  10. Hubert Darcy - Padraig Pearses
  11. Cathal Cregg - Western Gaels (C)
  12. Niall Kilroy - Fuerty
  13. Ultan Harney - Clann na nGael
  14. Conor Cox - Listowel Emmets
  15. Diarmuid Murtagh - St Faithleach's

James Horan, meanwhile, has made three changes from the side that travelled to New York earlier this month.

While Cillian O'Connor remains absent through injury, Diarmuid O'Connor is set to make his championship reappearance at wing-forward. Chris Barrett and Michael Plunkett also come into the team in place of Colm Boyle and James McCormack as the county attempt to make it back into a provincial decider for the first time since 2015.

Mayo starting XV:

  1. Robert Hennelly - Breaffy
  2. Chris Barrett - Belmullet
  3. Brendan Harrison - Aghamore
  4. Keith Higgins - Ballyhaunis
  5. Patrick Durcan - Castlebar Mitchels
  6. Michael Plunkett - Ballintubber
  7. Lee Keegan - Westport
  8. Matthew Ruane - Breaffy
  9. Aidan O’Shea - Breaffy
  10. Fergal Boland - Aghamore
  11. Jason Doherty - Burrishoole
  12. Diarmuid O'Connor - Ballintubber (C)
  13. Evan Regan - Ballina Stephenites
  14. Darren Coen - Hollymount/Carramore
  15. Kevin McLoughlin - Knockmore

Veteran corner-back Keith Higgins has also been named to start what will be his 155th time lining out for the county.

The throw-in is pencilled in for 7pm on Saturday evening, with the victors meeting Galway in the Connacht final on June 16.

The game will be broadcast like on Sky Sports.


SEE MORE: Meet Dayna Finn - One Of Ireland's Greatest Basketball Prospects Playing Football For Mayo



Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com