• Home
  • /
  • GAA
  • /
  • There's Yet Another Twist In The Christy Ring Scoring Fiasco

There's Yet Another Twist In The Christy Ring Scoring Fiasco

There's Yet Another Twist In The Christy Ring Scoring Fiasco
By Conor O'Leary Updated

I wasn't expecting this.

Long story short, there was some controversy in the Christy Ring cup final on Saturday - Meath were awarded the one-point win, but the referee has since come out to say that it should have been a draw, and that the scoreboard was wrong. Therefore, the CCCC scheduled a meeting on Tuesday to discuss what to do, and the expectation is that a replay will be ordered.

Following along so far? Good, because now there's another spanner in the works.

The Irish Independent is reporting that Meath will not fulfill the replay if/when it is ordered.

A large number of their players are due to leave the country for the states with their season over, and there is no desire to play the replay.

The farce comes about because an Antrim point was incorrectly awarded to Meath, and was incorrectly fixed by awarding a point to Antrim, and failing to take the point off Meath.

And so an embarrassing saga for hurling continues

Advertisement

[Irish Independent]

See Also: Westmeath Were Today The Fall-Guys Of A Very Strange Aspect Of The Hurling Championship

Photo by Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Copyright © 2022. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com

Advertisement