22 minutes into Wexford and Offaly's qualifier, Wexford won a penalty when Diarmuid O'Keeffe was fouled.
Wexford were trailing 0-5 to 0-7 at the time.
Up stepped Wexford goalkeeper Mark Fanning to strike the ball.
Initially, it looked like Fanning's shot had hit the post and come back out. However, further replays, initiated a protesting Fanning, showed that the green flag should have been raised. The ball had actually hit the stanchion of the goal and rebounded out.
On commentary for RTE, Anthony Daly called it a 'shocking piece of umpiring'.
A shockin', shockin' piece of umpiring there from all the officials that were nearby. A lot of these one-on-ones are being missed and to strike it perfectly to the back of the net like that except it didn't hit the net, it hit the back stanchion and not be given is shocking.
At the start of the second half, RTE sideline reporter Pauric Lodge told of a brief encounter with referee Johnny Ryan,
Referee Johnny Ryan, when he was coming out he looked at me. I said, questioningly, 'What happened?'. He threw his eyes to heaven.
Those watching were in bo doubt that it should have been a goal for Wexford.
We are told that TV shows the ball hit inside back post so should have been a goal
— Wexford GAA (@OfficialWexGAA) July 2, 2016
Wexford penalty actually hit the stanchion and came out. Legitimate goal. Another score controversy!
— RTÉ GAA (@RTEgaa) July 2, 2016
The umpires at Wexford-Offaly had one job.
— Ger Gilroy (@gergilroy) July 2, 2016
Uh-oh. Another major officiating blunder. It's the theme of this summer
— Mark Gallagher (@bailemg) July 2, 2016
Not another score controversy!
— John Fogarty (@JohnFogartyIrl) July 2, 2016
Wexford robbed! Peno hit the back stanchion.
— Malachy Clerkin (@MalachyClerkin) July 2, 2016
After the Christy Ring Cup final debacle and Laois being allowed use an extra substitute during their qualifier with Armagh, this is the latest controversy for the GAA.