On the 17th green of their fourballs game, US golfer Alison Lee stood over a putt that would have left her and her playing partner Brittany Lincicome 1 up against European pair Charley Hull and Suzann Pettersen.
After the putt slipped by, Lee briskly scooped up the ball with her putter, assuming that the halve had been conceded. Sure enough, Hull turned to stride off the green accepting that the hole had been halved. However, Pettersen was having none of it. She hadn't conceded any putt.
The match referee could only award the hole to the Europeans, who went on to win the 18th hole as well and finish the match 2 up.
After the match ended, both Lee and her English opponent Hull, who appeared to have conceded the putt, were in tears.
Pettersen, the ruthless one of the European pair, has been criticised by both sides, with Sky's Laura Davis branding her conduct 'disgusting' and 'unforgivable'.
She has let herself down and she certainly let her team down. I'm so glad I'm not on that team this time.
Laura Davies summing up the #SolheimCup controversy perfectly. Suzann Pettersen will regret her actions today for the rest of her career.
— Andrew Harding (@AndrewHarding9) September 20, 2015
The US Captain Juli Inkster said 'you just don't do that to your peers' and said it was 'total BS' in the post-match interview. Pettersen has been vilified online since the incident.
Read more: Henry Shefflin Reveals Anger At Donal Og Cusack Jibe From Years Ago