Rugby

Dan Biggar Shows Cracking Sportsmanship With Admission In Disallowed Try

Dan Biggar Shows Cracking Sportsmanship With Admission In Disallowed Try

We love to see this sort of stuff. Ireland take on Wales in their final World Cup warmup game this afternoon, with the team hoping to secure a victory before they head off to Japan. It will also be Joe Schmidt's final time in charge on home soil, with the Kiwi set to step down from his role after the World Cup.

Ireland struck first in the game, with Rob Kearney finishing off an excellent team move.

A Leigh Halfpenny penalty reduced the deficit to four points, and it looked like Wales would take the lead a few moments later.

Dan Biggar intercepted a sloppy Ireland and looked set to breeze home. However, some excellent cover from Robbie Henshaw and Rob Kearney ensured he would have to battle for it. The fly half ran out of legs towards the end and it appeared that he may have been held up.

Advertisement

Referee Mathieu Raynal was set to go to the TMO to check if the ball had been grounded, but Biggar told him not to bother. In a cracking piece of sportsmanship, he admitted that he had been held up.

Great to see.

SEE ALSO: 'It Was Carnage' - The Day That Forged Ireland's World Cup Anxiety

Gary Connaughton

You may also like

Jordan Larmour Starts As Ireland Name Team For Scotland World Cup Opener
Rugby
8 Things That Happen In Every Rugby Club
Rugby
Henshaw Out Of World Cup Opener But News Is Good On Earls, Kearney And Carbery
Rugby