• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • Ireland Team To Play Scotland: Joe Schmidt Rings The Changes From Dominant Wales Display

Ireland Team To Play Scotland: Joe Schmidt Rings The Changes From Dominant Wales Display

Ireland Team To Play Scotland: Joe Schmidt Rings The Changes From Dominant Wales Display
Conor O'Leary
By Conor O'Leary
Share this article

Joe Schmidt has made 14 changes from the team that dominanted Wales last week for the starting XV to play Scotland this Saturday at 5 pm in the Aviva Stadium.

Joe Schmidt has handed out an international debut to 23-year-old No. 8 Jack Conan as he named his team to face Scotland this Saturday. Conan will wear the number six jersey at the Aviva Stadium.

Conan is the first player to make their debut in a World Cup warm up game since Conor Murray in 2011.  He's joined in the back row by Chris Henry - whilst fans finally get their chance to see Sean O'Brien from No.8.  Mike Ross is set to continue his remarkable run of starting every single Ireland game under Joe Schmidt, alongside Rory Best and Dave Kilcoyne who both get promoted from last week's bench. They will be backed up in the second row by Six Nations hero Devin Toner and Dan Tuohy.

Behind the scrum, Ian Madigan, Gordon D'Arcy, and Simon Zebo are the big winners. Madigan gets his chance to start at 10, in trying to beat Paddy Jackson to be Sexton's back-up. He will partner Leinster teammate Isaac Boss. Gordon D'Arcy will be just inside him at 12, joining Jared Payne in another new centre partnership. Luke Fitzgerald and Tommy Bowe make their return since the last game against Scotland on the wings.

Interestingly, Simon Zebo will  be unleashed on the Scots from fullback, where he'll have more room to get involved in play. Zebo has said that fullback would be his favourite position, and it's a vote of confidence in the Munster back from Schmidt that he gets his chance.


Nathan White will get a chance to make his long awaited debut from the bench, which also features the first appearance of the season of Paul O'Connell. Dave Kearney is the back on the bench, and you can expect

If you want to win tickets to the game, click here and follow the instructions.


Ireland Team v Scotland, KO 5.pm Saturday, Aviva Stadium:

15. Simon Zebo
14. Tommy Bowe
13. Jared Payne
12. Gordon D'Arcy
11. Luke Fitzgerald
10. Ian Madigan
9. Isaac Boss
1. Dave Kilcoyne
2. Sean Cronin
3. Mike Ross
4. Devin Toner
5. Dan Tuohy
6. Jack Conan
7. Chris Henry
8. Sean O'Brien (c)


16. Richardt Strauss
17. Dave Kilcoyne
18. Nathan White
19. Paul O'Connell
20. Jordi Murphy
21. Eoin Reddan
22. Paddy Jackson
23. David Kearney

See Also: The All Blacks Have Given Us Rugby's Answer To That Brazilian Airport Ad
See Also: Joe Schmidt Sends Another Player Back To Their Province
Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com