• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • Ireland U20 Name A Strong Team For Opening World Rugby U20 Championship Game

Ireland U20 Name A Strong Team For Opening World Rugby U20 Championship Game

Ireland U20 Name A Strong Team For Opening World Rugby U20 Championship Game
By Conor O'Leary
Share this article

Ireland U20 head coach Nigel Carolan has named a strong team to play Argentina in the World Rugby U20 Championship opening game. Ireland are one of two simulatneous games that open the tournament, and will be fancied to beat the young Pumas in the opening game.

Leinster outhalf Joey Carberry wins the battle to replace injured Ross Byrne, and he partners captain Nick McCarthy in the half backs. It's Ireland's strongest possible team, and features some youth and strength in depth on the bench with U19 props Andrew Porter and Conan O'Donnell.

Ireland's backline has pace and power in the form of Sam Arnold and Ringrose in the centres, whilst Dardis, Gaffney and Fitzgerald make up a potent back three. In the forwards, Ireland will be heavily reliant on the back row trio to work hard with Josh Murphy, Rory Moloney and Lorcan Dow all enjoying fine Six Nations, while the ball carrying of Jeremy Loughman and Zac McCall will be vital to Ireland's chances.


The game kicks off at 3.30pm Irish time on Tuesday live on TG4.

IRELAND UNDER-20 Team To Play Argentina

2015 World Rugby Under-20 Championship Pool C, Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi, Parma, Tuesday, June 2, kick-off 4.30pm local time/3.30pm Irish time:

15. Billy Dardis (UCD/Leinster)
14. Ciaran Gaffney (Galwegians/Connacht)
13. Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster)
12. Sam Arnold (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
11. Stephen Fitzgerald (Shannon/Munster)
10. Joey Carbery (UCD/Leinster)
9. Nick McCarthy (UCD/Leinster) (capt)
1. Jeremy Loughman (UCD/Leinster)
2. Zack McCall (Queen's University Belfast/Ulster)
3. Oisin Heffernan (Terenure College/Leinster)
4. David O'Connor (St. Mary's College/Leinster)
5. Alex Thompson (Queen's University Belfast/Ulster)
6. Josh Murphy (UCD/Leinster)
7. Rory Moloney (Buccaneers/Connacht)
8. Lorcan Dow (Queen's University Belfast/Ulster)



16. Sean McNulty (UCD/Leinster)
17. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster)
18. Conan O'Donnell (Sligo/NUIG/Connacht)
19. Jack Dwan (UCD/Leinster)
20. Nick Timoney (St. Mary's College/Leinster)
21. Charlie Rock (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
22. Tomás Quinlan (Cork Constitution/Munster)
23. Jacob Stockdale (Queen's University Belfast/Ulster)

See Also: Ireland U20s: Everything You Need To Know About The World Cup Squad
Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Share this article

Copyright © 2023. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com