• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • First Ever Ireland U20s Women's Squad Announced

First Ever Ireland U20s Women's Squad Announced

First Ever Ireland U20s Women's Squad Announced
By Colman Stanley Updated
Share this article

The first ever Ireland U20s Women's squad has been announced, ahead of their series of training matches in Rome later this month.

The team will train alongside Italy and Scotland at the Stadio Tommaso Fattori in L’Aquila, before playing both sides in two 40 minute matches on Friday July 28.

Head coach Neill Alcorn has chosen 26 players, three of whom - Niamh O’Dowd, Emma Tilly and Leah Tarpey - have already represented Ireland at senior level, while a number of players have played at senior level for their provinces and in the U18s Six Nations.

There is clearly still a very long way to go in the journey of creating an acceptable rugby environment for women in Ireland, this is a step in the right direction and should be celebrated.

First Ever Ireland U20s Women's Squad Announced


READ HERE: Wonderful Gesture From Fiji Ahead Of Hugely Emotional Ireland U20s Game 

"We’re delighted to name the first ever Ireland Women’s Under-20 squad ahead of the trip to Italy," said IRFU Women’s National Talent Squad and Talent Identification Manager, Katie Fitzhenry.


“We had 44 players at last month’s screening camp, and the coaching team of Neill, Larissa Muldoon and Matt Gill have selected an exciting mix of talented players from across the country, all of whom have impressed for their club, province, or at underage international level in a green jersey.


“It is a hugely exciting time for everyone involved and this is another important step for our Women’s Pathway, providing a platform for the further development of our best young players and exposing them to international rugby at an early stage in their career.”

IRELAND WOMEN’S UNDER-20 Squad (2023 Italy Tour):

Backs (12) –


Abby Moyles (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)
Cara Martin (Navan RFC/Leinster)
Clara Barrett (Ballina RFC/Connacht)
Ellen Boylan (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)
Emma Tilly (MU Barnhall RFC/Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)
Eva Sterritt (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)
Kate Flannery (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
Katie Whelan (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)
Kayla Waldron (Galwegians RFC/Connacht)
Laoise McGonagle (Galwegians RFC/Connacht)
Leah Tarpey (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)
Willow Bell (Sale Sharks/IQ Rugby)

Forwards (14) –

Amy O’Mahony (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)
Caoimhe Guinan (Tullamore RFC/Leinster)
Hannah Wilson (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)
India Daley (Cooke RFC/Ulster)
Ivana Kiripati (Buccaneers RFC/Connacht)
Jane Neill (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)
Karly Tierney (Tuam/Oughterard RFC/Connacht)
Maebh Clenaghan (Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)
Megan Collis (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)
Niamh O’Dowd (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)
Ruth Campbell (MU Barnhall RFC/Leinster)
Sarah Delaney (Cill Dara RFC/Leinster)
Sarah Shrestha (Loughborough University/Ulster)
Sophie Barrett (Enniskillen RFC/Ulster)


SEE ALSO: Ireland U20s Show Great Character To Beat Fiji & Avoid Semis Clash With France

4 July 2023; irish rugby ; Andrew Osborne of Ireland on his way to score a try during the U20 Rugby World Cup match between Fiji and Ireland at Danie Craven Stadium in Stellenbosch, South Africa. Photo by Nic Bothma/Sportsfile

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Share this article

Copyright © 2023. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com