Rugby

Watch: Owen Farrell Stops Certain Australian Try With Blatant Shoulder Charge

Watch: Owen Farrell Stops Certain Australian Try With Blatant Shoulder Charge

Australia came to play. Amidst reports of a camp in 'disarray' and two players dropped for breaching team rules, Michael Cheika's side arrived at Twickenham and by half-time were level 13-13. Yet it could have been more.

With one last attack in the game, the Wallabies marched deep into English territory. Lock Izack Rodda's strong carrying looked certain to result in a second try but he was met by a thundering Owen Farrell hit. Eventually, Australia were awarded a penalty for England's infringing but Michael Hooper went back to highlight the hit with referee Jaco Peyper. Peyper disagreed and did not go to the TMO.

 

 

Advertisement

Speaking on Sky Sports, Clive Woodward claimed "England got away with it" and criticised the referee for not going to the TMO: "If I was in Cheika's seat I would be very unhappy with that. To me, it is a penalty try." Will Greenwood also said it was a certain penalty try.

It is the second time Farrell has been at the centre of a controversial tackle, with a late hit against South Africa resulting in huge debate amongst several rugby figures. 

The game is the final one of a difficult year for Australia, although a positive result would go some way towards lifting the mood.

SEE ALSO: Peter O'Mahony Secures Hearts & Minds Of Irish Public With Late Late Appearance

Maurice Brosnan

You may also like