• Home
  • /
  • GAA
  • /
  • Revealed: The Best Kildare Team Of The Last 30 Years As Voted By You

Revealed: The Best Kildare Team Of The Last 30 Years As Voted By You

Revealed: The Best Kildare Team Of The Last 30 Years As Voted By You
By Michael McCarthy
Share this article

After a week of debate, the results are now in. We can reveal our 10th 15 for 30 team - Kildare's best county football team of the last 30 years, as voted by the public.

Big votes for Johnny Doyle, Martin Lynch, Dermot Earley, Glenn Ryan and Anthony Rainbow were no surprise, while it was interesting to see current star forward Daniel Flynn also break into the top 5 in the voting.

Kildare's Kieran McGeeney nearly years weren't forgotten either by voters, especially in defence with the likes of Emmet Bolton, Mick Foley and Peter Kelly all getting safely onto the team.

The biggest competition came in the half forward line. There was an incredibly tight battle for two places between James Kavanagh, Eddie McCormack and Declan Kerrigan. Amazingly, just 5 votes separated the three players, and in the end, to the surprise of many, McCormack, the star wing-forward of the Mick O'Dwyer era, missed out to Kavanagh by literally two votes.

The final team lines up as follows:

1. Christy Byrne;

2. Brian Lacey, 3. Michael Foley, 4. Peter Kelly;


5. Emmet Bolton, 6. Glenn Ryan, 7. Anthony Rainbow;

8. Dermot Earley, 9. Niall Buckley;

10. James Kavanagh, 11. Declan Kerrigan, 12. Johnny Doyle;


13. Martin Lynch, 14. Daniel Flynn, 15. Tadhg Fennin.


Unsurprisingly, Mick O'Dwyer's Leinster title winning men of 1998 and 2000 have the healthiest representation on the team with 10 of the team having played in the 2000 Leinster final.


That the great Johnny Doyle was the biggest vote getter will come as no surprise, but the his margin over second placed Martin Lynch was a surprise. Doyle's votes represented the largest gap between the first and second player in the ten counties we have polled so far.

The Top 30 in order of votes received in all positions was as follows:

1. Johnny Doyle


2. Martin Lynch

3. Daniel Flynn

4. Dermot Earley


5. Glenn Ryan

6. Christy Byrne

7. Anthony Rainbow


8. Tadgh Fennin

9. Niall Buckley

10. Emmet Bolton

11. Brian Lacey

12. Peter Kelly

13. Michael Foley

14. Declan Kerrigan

15. James Kavanagh

16. Eddie McCormack

17. Eamonn Callaghan

18. Davy Dalton

19. Ronan Sweeney

20. Paul Cribbin

21. Enda Murphy

T22. Kevin Feely

T22. Karl O'Dwyer

24. John Finn

T25. Willie McCreery

T25. Mark Donnellan

27. Eoghan O'Flaherty

28. Ollie Lyons

29. Alan Smith

30. Sos Dowling



The Best Wexford Team Of The Last 30 Years

The Best Kerry Team Of The Last 30 Years

The Best Clare Team Of The Last 30 Years

The Best Mayo Team Of The Last 30 Years

The Best Armagh Team Of The Last 30 Years

The Best Tipperary Team Of The Last 30 Years

The Best Meath Team Of The Last 30 Years

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Share this article

Copyright © 2023. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com